Where am I at? Where am I headed?

Being that the New Year is fast approaching (and that it’s a blog posting requirement for my PIDP 3260 course!) I thought it would be prudent to reflect on where I am now in my career, where I hope to be in five years, and some steps I can take to get there.

I consider myself to be in the early years in my career as a post-secondary instructor. I have been teaching in the part-time studies Marketing Management program at British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT) for nearly five years. In my five years at BCIT, I have taught 37 courses – and hundreds of students.

Prior to my experience at BCIT, I spent over 15 years in the field of communications and public relations with notable organizations such as BC Lottery Corporation, Coast Capital Savings, Starbucks and Acumen Communications Group.

I’ve had some great experience in the corporate world and am now ready to leave that chapter of my career behind, and move forward in my role as a “facilitator of learning.”

My next step will be to complete a Masters Degree in Education (M. Ed) to take my teaching career to the next level. I have applied for entry into a program beginning in June 2016 and hope to hear back as to whether I’ve been accepted early in the New Year.

As I make my way through the M. Ed program, I will continue to work part-time as an instructor at BCIT. Once I have completed my Master’s Degree, I will pursue a full-time teaching role, hopefully at BCIT, but I am open to other educational institutions if a great opportunity presents itself.

I am a passionate and dedicated teacher, who cares deeply about the personal growth and satisfaction of the students in each and every one of my courses.

I look forward to completing the Provincial Instructors Diploma Program, and my M. Ed.  – and putting the extremely valuable skills I am learning in to practice.

About robincookbondy

My name is Robin Cook Bondy and I live in Ladner, BC with my husband and three sons. I am a communications and public relations professional pursuing further education in the area of adult learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

